Dog License Notice
Notice to Dog Owners
The owner of a dog shall have the dog vaccinated against rabies by a veterinarian at no later than 5 months of age and re-vaccinated within one year after the initial vaccination. If the owner obtains the dog or brings the dog into this state after the dog has reached 5 months of age, the owner shall have the dog vaccinated against rabies within 30 days after the dog is obtained or brought into the state unless the dog has been vaccinated as evidenced by a current certificate of rabies vaccination from this state or another state. The owner of a dog shall have the dog re-vaccinated against rabies by a veterinarian before the date that the immunization expires as stated on the certificate of vaccination or, if no date is specified, within 3 years after the previous vaccination. (Wisconsin Statutes 95.21 (2)(a))
A city, village or town may impose a rabies control program with more restrictive provisions. (Wisconsin Statutes 95.21 (9)(a))
The owner of a dog more than 5 months of age on January 1 of any year, or 5 months of age within the license year, shall annually, or on or before the date the dog becomes 5 months of age, pay the dog license tax and obtain a license. The minimum dog license tax is $11 for a neutered male dog or spayed female dog, upon presentation of evidence that the dog is neutered or spayed, and $30 for an unaltered male or female dog, or one half of these amounts if the dog became 5 months of age after July 1 of the license year. The governing body of any town, village or city may raise the minimum dog license tax on dogs within its jurisdiction. Late fees may be assessed after April 1st. (Wisconsin Statutes 174.05)
This notice published pursuant to Wisconsin Statutes 174.052.
Kimberly S Bushey
Walworth County Clerk