Addressing Information

Address Assignment

Walworth County has implemented a rural numbering system in order to create a countywide 911 system that will provide more efficient emergency services. Rural numbers are required  on any site which has an improvement, such as a home, cottage, or storage building. The Land Information Division is responsible for assigning addresses in the following nine communities:

  • East Troy Township                                                    
  • Geneva Township                                                       
  • Lafayette Township                                              
  • Linn Township    
  • Richmond Township 
  • Sharon Township
  • Spring Prairie Township  
  • Troy Township        
  • Walworth Township

Applications & Payments

There are three options for submitting your address application form and payment: 


Online payments are now accepted through the online address application form:


You may also download the PDF Address Application and email the completed application to


Download and print the PDF Address Application and send the completed application and fee to: 

Walworth County IT Department

P.O. Box 1001

Elkhorn, WI 53121


For PDF Address Applications, checks are still required to be sent to the mailing address above prior to the issuance of a new address. Please make checks out to the Walworth County IT Department.


There are specific requirements in obtaining a new Walworth County Rural Address:

  1. Submit the $75 address application fee via check to the address listed above. (Checks payable to: Walworth County IT Department)
  2. Zoning permit must be obtained through the Walworth County Land Use and Resource Management Department (LURM)
  3. Driveway must be marked or staked on site.

For questions please call: 262-741-7811.